Book Summary: Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

🌟 Alternate title for this book

Success myths busted

🎯 The Book in 3 Sentences

I mostly thought the idea of success or failure is something in my hand and that I, as a person, is the most important variable in the success equation. However, Malcom Gladwell proves in this book that being successful is all about getting as many opportunities as we can throughout our life. And the number of opportunities we get can as well be dependent on our luck when factors such as birth date, year, location, family background and race also form the part of our success equation.

🎨 Book impressions ?

The authors writing style really amazed me. the whole book is divided in few chapters. Every chapter has one outlining theme and usually author will describe a example related to success. The whole chapter will explain the rational from the authors perspective. The rational of author initially will make no sense in the beginning of the chapter but at the end of the chapter all the factors will converge together and the idea will click suddenly and everything will make sense again.

👓 Who should read this book ?

Its a very general book so everyone should read this book.

🧘‍♂️ How the Book Changed Me

After reading this book and introspecting my own life achievements, I realize that the today where I am was largely determined by the opportunities I got throughout my life. Just for one example, I could get good schooling because my father worked hard enough to leave our hometown and make a living in good city.

✍️ My Top 3 Quotes

It is those who are successful, in other words, who are most likely to be given the kinds of special opportunities that lead to further success. It’s the rich who get the biggest tax breaks. It’s the best students who get the best teaching and most attention. And it’s the biggest nine- and ten-year-olds who get the most coaching and practice. Success is the result of what sociologists like to call “accumulative advantage.”

Their success is not exceptional or mysterious. It is grounded in a web of advantages and inheritances, some deserved, some not, some earned, some just plain lucky — but all critical

Outliers are those who have been given opportunities — and who have had the strength and presence of mind to seize them.

Leave a comment