⏪ Verma’s 2021 year end reflection

❓ Why am I writing this and sharing this ?

Two reasons. First, even if one person out there finds some value in reading my thoughts then I consider it worth taking my time to write it out.

Second, year end is a good time to self-reflect and contemplate my goals, hits and misses. Documenting or recording my thoughts is a very good way to guage my growth when I look back next year or even as long as 10 year down the line.


🏆 Best moment of the year

This was the first week of 2021. I checked my mail on phone at the bus stop while I was on the way to university. The mail was from my prof saying that our paper has been accepted. I was jumping and tearing up at the same time and the guy sitting next to me at the bus stop must be thinking I am mad 😁.

👷‍♂️ My work life summarized in three sentences

My first six months went in writing my manuscript and my thesis. My last six months went in cleaning and reorganizing the lab. I hardly did any hands-on lab experiment this year 😂.

🥼 The little social experiment I did this year

Walked to my colleagues and asked them a simple question “Tell me one thing I am good at.” Almost everyone was stunned when I threw this question at them. After scratching their head for few minutes, they would answer me. Having caught them off guard, I believe their answers were honest and I was quite impressed to know what my colleagues think of me. 😄

🦸‍♂️ New heroes I got to be friends with this year

  • The disciplined: will follow their routine religiously. This is something which I strive to do everyday.
  • The passionate talkers: The shear intensity and energy they put in while talking makes the conversation deep and enjoyable at the same time.
  • The fire brigades: If I don’t know how to tackle a particular problem, I just knock their door.
  • The counsellors: The go-to people when I need to rant with full assurance that I will be listened to.
  • The cheerleaders: They cheer me up every time I get a chance to talk to them.
  • The socializers: Always eager to hang out and party no matter what
  • The consultants: They often have the best advice for me if I am looking for any solution
  • The Food enthusiasts: love talking about food and also eager to share new kinds of food I show interest in.

👩‍🏫 Top three inspiring personalities

  • Li Ping, the cleaner aunty in my work place, is always happy smiling and laughing. I get to say hi to her every time I meet her in the morning and she never failed to cheer me up. She is a living example to show that money cannot buy happiness.
  • Dr. William Manalastas: He is a mentor, a caretaker, a helper, a giver, a self-less kind and polite human. All in one 🤯.
  • Dickie Bush (Dickie Bush 🚢): His tweets about writing in general are so inspiring and has been one of the reasons I started writing in my free time.

🍁 Four lessons 2021 has taught me

  • Self-expression makes you look more authentic and trustworthy. A good self-expression leaves others very little room for doubts and skepticism.
  • Feeling remorse for our past is a good thing. This simply means we are mature enough to see faults in our past actions.
  • Others are busy solving their own problems in life. If someone takes out time from their own lives to help us, thanking them for their favor is the least we can do to be nice to them.
  • A person becomes likeable when he/she is happy regardless of what role they play in your life.

🤹‍♀️ New skills I picked up outside my work

  • I had interest in writing as a hobby. This year I took it a bit more seriously and have been writing on an average more than one article every month on my website.
  • Till the mid 2021, longboarding was only a medium for commute in my life. I bought a proper longboard with double kicktail after I submitted my thesis in August. This board has opened the gates for me to start learning tricks and I have been learning basic pop tricks since last 3 months regularly.
  • I did read few self-help books in the past. But this year, since I bought a kindle I have been able to read more than 12 books in a year and have been more consistent in my reading habits.
  • I picked up a video editing this year. I am learning to use a free and basic video editing program called shotcut (link) in my free time.

🌱 My top three investments of 2021

  • Logitech MX keys keyboard. This is because I consider keyboard as a digital pen today. I typed my manuscripts, my thesis, my mails, and so many blogs. All the credit goes to the comfortable and durable keyboard for taking the toll of my smashing fingers on the keyboard.
  • Kindle paperwhite. The number one reason I could read so many books this year. Very easy to buy books and start reading right away. Plus, my eyes wont hurt and I can read for long hours at a stretch.
  • Logitech C930e webcam: With all the current work from home scenario, the only way to communicate two-way to the world is camera and mic. This webcam has been a daily driver for my meetings and video calls.

📚 Top three books I enjoyed reading this year

🎶 Top three music that were in my loop for almost the whole year

👓 Top three YouTube channels I found valuable this year

🎥 Best movie I watched this year

Groundhog day
If you read my analysis of the movie, you will know why its a masterpiece even after almost 30 years of release.

🍜 Top three food/snacks items I tried this year

  • Chamomile tea
  • Veg Kothu paratha
  • Gujarati daal

📱 Top three softwares/apps I discovered in 2021

  • Syncthing: for syncing data between windows and android devices in real time on the same wifi network. I use this with Obsidian for windows and obsidian android.
  • FreeFileSync: to make backup of the data in an external hard drive
  • Spacedesk: To extend windows monitor to android devices wirelessly to extend your monitor screen

🖼 Top visual I encountered this year

by Ash Lamb (link)

📸 Top moments of 2021 caught in photos

💭Final thoughts for 2021

I didn’t get to travel or socialize as much as could do previously. However, after I took out time to write all of this, I realize that it was far better than the picture I had in my head.

This is all I could think off so far in summarizing my life in the last 12 months. If you found any of this interesting, you are most welcome to reach out to me to have a chat. I love talking anyways 😅


Leave a comment