Book Review: Can’t Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds by David Goggins

🌟 Alternate title for this book

Strength through suffering

🎯 The Book in 3 Sentences

The mantra to excel in life is simple: Instead of running away from your fears, learn to face them as it will make you stronger and better and there are no shortcuts to it. We give up too soon in anything we do, not because we aren’t strong enough, but because we always listen to the self-talk in our head. Although this self-talk in our head is primed to keep us safe and out of any danger, it also limits us to realize how strong we truly are. Therefore, once we master control of our minds, we can achieve anything.

🎨 Book impressions ?

This book depicts how a black child who was tortured by all means in his childhood transformed himself to becoming one of the toughest man on this planet. David Goggins had no privilege, which most of us take for granted, and yet he could achieve things which even he could not dream off. While the book’s premise is more towards physical training, David Goggins has proven each time that he could not have overcome them by changing his mindset. Like David Goggins, all of us can achieve the things we long for by challenging ourselves and holding ourselves accountable everything: both good and bad.

👓 Who should read this book ?

Anyone who feels motivated by watching sports movie and are bored of watching motivational movies or YouTube videos. I will also recommend this to those who want to build mental toughness.

🧘‍♂️ How the Book Changed Me

How my life / behaviour / thoughts / ideas have changed as a result of reading the book.

This book made me realize that setbacks in my life will not make me weak but stronger. Every time faced with a problem, instead of complaining and running away from it, I might as well face it. Overcoming the fears is possible only by facing them. In the difficult times, I might be swept away in the negative-self talk in my head, instead I should also remind myself that I do have overcome many fears in my life until today and this is not my first time.

✍️ My Top 3 Quotes

The most important conversations you’ll ever have are the ones you’ll have with yourself. You wake up with them, you walk around with them, you go to bed with them, and eventually you act on them. Whether they be good or bad.

It’s also imperative that you find it because in every failure there is something to be gained, even if it’s only practice for the next test you’ll have to take. Because that next test is coming. That’s a guarantee.

We all have a cookie jar inside us, because life, being what it is, has always tested us. Even if you’re feeling low and beat down by life right now, I guarantee you can think of a time or two when you overcame odds and tasted success.

Leave a comment